Show/Hide
Find the most up-to-date information about City facility availability, services and programs on the COVID-19 page.

Hydrant Flushing Program

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

PLEASE NOTE: This program is postponed in response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Please check back for updates.

Annual Hydrant Flushing Program Hydrant

The City of Westerville, Department of Public Service will be starting their annual hydrant flushing program beginning Sunday, April 26, 2020. The program will run around the clock in order to flush the more than 2471 hydrants in the City’s system. All hydrants are flushed once a year to help clear the water lines of particulates that may build up over time. Crews also check the hydrants and valves for any operational issues which need to be addressed in order to keep the hydrants in good working order.


Residents may notice a brownish tint to their water after the hydrants in their neighborhood have been flushed. If so, run the water through a tap for a few minutes and it should clear up. Residents may also want to run their washer through a rinse cycle once before doing laundry.

Please contact the Westerville Department of Public Service at (614) 901-6740 with any questions, concerns, or help in determining when hydrants will be flushed. The Department is open Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. – 4 p.m. 

 Hydrant Flushing Schedule

Week One

Week Two

Sun, April 26, 2020

Sun, May 3, 2020

Mon, April 27, 2020

Mon, May 4, 2020

Tues, April 28, 2020

Tues, May 5, 2020

Wed, April 29, 2020

Wed, May 6, 2020

Thurs, April 30, 2020

Thurs, May 7, 2020

Fri, May 1, 2020

Fri, May 8, 2020