Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City Council Organizes

Post Date:12/01/2017 8:26 PM
Westerville City Council announced its 2018-2020 structure during an organizational meeting on Friday, December 1.

Councilmembers elected last month began their term on December 1 after taking an oath of office in Council Chambers. Council elected the following members to serve two-year terms as Council Chairperson, Council Vice Chairperson, Mayor and Vice Mayor.  

For the next two years, Mike Heyeck will serve as Council Chairperson, Diane Fosselman will serve as Vice Chair, Craig Treneff will serve as Mayor and Kathy Cocuzzi will serve as Vice Mayor. 

Also determined at the December 1 organization meeting were appointments of members to numerous committees and boards on which Councilmembers serve. 

Valerie Cumming and Alex Heckman were welcomed as incoming Councilmembers, having each won a seat in the November 7 election. Larry Jenkins, who was elected to Council in 2009, and John Bokros, who was appointed to Council in 2015 to fill an unexpired term, were each recognized for their service. Councilmembers Kathy Cocuzzi and Mike Heyeck were returned to their seats for another four-year term.

“Westerville City Council has a new composition but will be getting right back to work for the community we serve,” said Former Council Chairman Craig Treneff. “There are fingerprints of service all across Westerville that belong to Larry Jenkins and John Bokros. I want to thank both men for their leadership and commitment over their terms on Council. I’m also looking forward to working with Valerie Cumming and Alex Heckman. Westerville is in good hands with the individuals they have elected to serve them.”

Westerville City Council consists of seven at-large members elected to four-year overlapping terms in non-partisan elections. Municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years, with four seats filled in one election and three seats filled in the next election.

For more information, please visit

The following members were appointed to represent Council on Westerville Board and Commissions:
Parks & Recreation Advisory Board:  Valerie Cumming
Planning Commission:  Diane Fosselman
Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission:  Alex Heckman
Westerville Industry & Commerce Corporation:  Kathy Cocuzzi
Fire Advisory Committee (2):  Mike Heyeck, Valerie Cumming
Ohio Municipal Electric Association:  Craig Treneff (Kathy Cocuzzi, alternate)
Westerville Fund:  Kathy Cocuzzi
Finance/Audit Committee:  Tim Davey, Mike Heyeck, Alex Heckman
Otterbein University STEAM Innovation Center Advisory Council:  Diane Fosselman
Main Street Westerville Board (Uptown Westerville, Inc):  Kathy Cocuzzi
Return to full list >>